Supreme Court of Canada Appointment Process - 2019 (Appointment of the Honourable Nicholas Kasirer)

On August 7, 2019, the Prime Minister announced the appointment of the Honourable Nicholas Kasirer to the Supreme Court of Canada (view Prime Minister's press release). Under the new process used for the first time in 2016, an independent and non-partisan Advisory Board, was again given the task of identifying suitable candidates who are jurists of the highest caliber, are functionally bilingual, and are representative of the diversity of Canada.

As required by the Supreme Court Act, "At least three of the judges shall be appointed from among the judges of the Court of Appeal or of the Superior Court of the Province of Quebec or from among the advocates of that Province." When applying through the Office of the Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs Canada, candidates needed to make reference to their judicial appointment or bar membership in the Province of Quebec.

To enhance transparency, the assessment criteria guiding the Advisory Board's work, the questionnaire that all applicants had to answer, and certain answers provided in the questionnaire by the Prime Minister’s nominee were all made public and can be found in the following pages. As required by the Terms of Reference, the final report of the Advisory Board will be made public within one month following Justice Kasirer's appointment.

Processus de nomination à la Cour suprême du Canada - 2019 (Nomination de l'honorable Nicholas Kasirer)

Le 7 août 2019, le Premier ministre a annoncé la nomination de l’honorable Nicholas Kasirer à la Cour suprême du Canada (voir communiqué de presse du premier ministre). En vertu du nouveau processus utilisé pour la première fois en 2016, un Comité consultatif indépendant et impartial a reçu le mandat d’identifier des candidats qualifiés qui sont des juristes du plus haut calibre, effectivement bilingues et à l’image de la diversité du Canada.

Tel que requis par la Loi sur la Cour suprême : « Au moins trois des juges sont choisis parmi les juges de la Cour d’appel ou de la Cour supérieure de la province de Québec ou parmi les avocats de celle-ci. » Au moment de poser leur candidature par l’intermédiaire du Commissariat à la magistrature fédérale Canada, les personnes devaient faire état de leur nomination judiciaire ou de leur appartenance au barreau dans la province de Québec.

Afin d’assurer un processus transparent, les critères d’évaluation qui ont guidé le travail du Comité, le questionnaire que tous les candidats devaient remplir et certaines réponses indiquées dans le questionnaire du candidat proposé par le Premier ministre ont été rendues publiques et se trouvent dans les pages qui suivent. Tel que prescrit par leur mandat, le rapport final du Comité consultatif sera rendu public dans le mois suivant la nomination du juge Kasirer.